top of page
Get a FREE novella from the Luck Gods series, The Thief and the Lucky Boy


A leprechaun thief. A lucky boy. A deadly chase.

Cleo is the best leprechaun thief around. But when she steals a lucky boy from one of the baddest luck traders in Detroit’s peri underground, she knows she’s in for trouble. Sure enough, the one tasked with tracking them down is her ex-boyfriend Varsmith, a goblin as ruthless as he is hot. And he’s pretty damn hot. 

The stolen boy is so full of charm, he must belong to one of the luck gods. There are four clans of them: the Valentines, Diamantes, Blackovers and Morbus—Hearts, Diamonds, Clubs and Spades. If Cleo can keep ahead of Varsmith and find the kid’s rightful parents, the payday will be huge. The question is, can she survive long enough to collect?


The Thief and the Lucky Boy is a perfect introduction to the world of the Luck Gods-- or a great way to continue the adventure. (Chronologically, it falls between book 1 and book 2 in the series, but it contains no spoilers.)

Ebook - Girl of Hearts 04.jpg
Now available on paperback and audio!

Four tribes of ruthless demigods rule over luck in our world. To save her mom, Aggie must join them.


A proud nerd and teen scientist, Aggie doesn’t believe in gods or in luck. Her OCD is under control—mostly—and her mom, Rachel, has just finished building a dark matter machine that could win back her job as a physics professor. When Rachel disappears, Aggie sneaks into the casino where her mom has been earning money as a card-counter. Instead of finding her, Aggie is captured by a gang of men with tattoos of clubs on the palms of their hands—the Blackovers. A dangerously beautiful boy, the mercurial Jack Valentine, helps her escape.


Because of a glitch in the dark matter machine, Aggie has been filled with charm, good luck energy, while her mom received bad luck energy and may be forced to become a Blackover. To save her, Aggie must join Jack and his fellow Valentines. She finds herself whisked into their world of opulent mansions, gorgeous people, and fancy cars.


But being a demigoddess isn’t all glamor and popularity. It can be deadly. Aggie must master her newfound luck powers, battle the dark suits, and brave the unlucky underbelly of Detroit, all while keeping her OCD at bay—or risk losing her mom forever.


Girl of Hearts is book 1 of The Luck Gods Series, is a YA contemporary / urban fantasy series featuring royal intrigue, slow-burn romance, and a mind-bending original magic system based on the four card suits: diamonds, clubs, hearts, and spades.

In [Dark Territory], the first installment of The Tracks series, co-authors J. Gabriel Gates and Charlene Keel have produced an outstandingly gripping tale of love, honor and betrayal in a book of action, fantasy and science fiction.

- The Chicago Tribune

[In Blood Zero Sky] Gates creates a dystopian nightmare setting of technology and greed… a Brave New World with a consumerist edge.


– Publisher’s Weekly

The Sleepwalkers was one of the best horror novels I’ve ever read… period.



  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • bookbub logo
  • TikTok
bottom of page